Header image

Financial & Regulatory Crime

Our Financial & Regulatory Crime team provides a truly comprehensive approach to financial and business crime.

We recognise that there is an increasing requirement for dedicated legal assistance at the interface between the criminal and civil law. We have extensive expertise and skill in the public law and regulatory aspects of crime, and are very familiar with both civil and criminal procedure. We offer specialist advocacy and a swift, definitive advice resource.

We have a strong reputation for the successful defence of professionals and members of the business community in “white collar crime” cases, and we provide specialist knowledge in the following areas:

- Fraud Act 2006
- Money laundering offences
- Compliance for the regulated sector and legal profession
- Restraint Proceedings and Freezing orders
- Criminal Confiscation
- Certificates of inadequacy and enforcement proceedings
- Cash Seizures
- Civil Recovery of the proceeds of crime
- Company offences and Directors disqualification proceedings
- Appeals to the VAT and specialist tax tribunals
- Judicial Review
- Health and Safety Prosecutions

Our team has a detailed knowledge of all areas of the confiscation legislation under the Proceeds of Crime Act 2002 and pre-existing legislation.

We are able to draw on expertise within Chambers in commercial law, disciplinary proceedings and civil fraud, and provide a tailor-made, multi-disciplinary team to deal with all aspects of a case. In certain circumstances, we can advise corporate and professional clients on a direct access basis.

In addition to our advocacy and advisory services, the team is able to provide specialist in-house training for legal professionals and the business community on practical key aspects of compliance and litigation.

Members of our team have been involved in many of the most complex and demanding fraud cases of recent years.

Members Who Specialise

Sir Geoffrey Cox KC


Mathew Sherratt KC


Mathew Sherratt KC


Charles J W Benson KC


David Gottlieb


Nadim Bashir


Christopher Harding


Simon Gladwell


Tara McCarthy


Ravi Dogra


Amiot Vollenweider


Ben Walker Nolan


Juliet Donovan


Puneet Rai


Nicholas Maggs


Zoë Gibbon


Charlotte Mitchell-Dunn


TMC Logo

Phone: +44 (0) 20 7404 7000 |

Email: clerks@thomasmore.co.uk

Client Care Policy |

Privacy Policy |

Complaints |

Conditional Fee Agreements

© Thomas More Chambers 2024